EUROTAPES kick-off meeting

17-18 September 2012 in Barcelona (Spain) the organization meeting of consortium EUROTAPES (European Development of Superconducting Tapes) created with the European Commission support took place.

The EUROTAPES project will address two broad objectives:

1. The integration of the latest developments into simple conductor architectures for low and medium cost applications and delivery of +500m tapes. Definition of quality control tools and protocols to enhance the processing throughput and yield to achieve a pre-commercial cost target of 100 €/kAm.

2. Use of advanced methodologies to enhance performance (larger thickness and Ic, enhanced pinning for high fields, reduced ac losses and increased mechanical strength).

Demonstration high critical currents (Ic>400A/cm-w, at 77K and self-field and Ic>1000A/cm-w at 5K and 15T) and pinning forces (Fp>100GN/m3 at 60 K). The CSD and PLD technologies will be combined to achieve optimized tape architectures, nanostructures and processes to address a variety of HTS applications at self-field, high and ultrahigh magnetic fields. Up to month 36, 3 types of conductors will be developed (RABiT, ABAD and round wire); at Mid Term 2 will be chosen for demonstration during the final 18 months.

The consortium consists of 20 partners from 8 member states – 6 universities (University of Cambridge, UK; University of Antwerp, B, University Autonoma de Barcelona Barcelona, ES, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, RO, University of Ghent, BE and Vienna University of Technology, A), 5 institutes (Institut de Ciencia de Materials de Barcelona, E, Italian National agency for new technologies, energy and sustainable economic development, I, Institute of Electrical Engineering Slovak Academy of Sciences, SK, Institute Neel (CNRS), F, and Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research, Dresden, D), 1 technological center (Leitat Technological Center, ES) and 8 industrial companies (Bruker HTS GmbH, D, Evico, D, Theva, D, Nexans GmbH, D, PerCoTech AG, D, Nexans SA, F, La Farga la Cambra, ES and Oxolutia, ES).

Coordinator: Prof. Xavier Obradors Director of the Institut Ciència Materials Barcelona (ICMAB).